Contact:+233 (0) 200955020 | +233 (0) 20 320 1141

Department of Environment and Public Health


The Department of Environment and Public Health is one of the five Departments under the School of Natural and Environmental Sciences. The Department seeks to train students with 21st century skills relating to environment and public health through well-structured programmes and share knowledge by conducting cutting-edge research for sustainable development.

The Department of Environment and Public Health is key in achieving the mandate of the University, which is to teach, research and disseminate knowledge in relation to Environment and agro-business, and provide extension and consultancy services. Teaching research, extension and consultancy activities at the Department focuses on the interrelationship between humans and the environment, environmental related diseases, environmental education and behaviour change, natural resources and nature conservation, environmental resources management, environmental quality and management, among others. Outcomes of research contribute to sustainability of public health, environmental and nature conservation management policies.

Currently, the Department is running four (4) undergraduate Programmes for both regular and sandwich students, namely: BSc. Environment and Public Health, Environmental and Sustainability Science, Environmental Management and Nature Conservation Management. There are plans to start postgraduate programmes in Public Health, Environment, Health and Safety, Disease Control, Environmental Sustainability, Environmental Science, Conservation Studies, Environmental Engineering, among others.

The Department presently has 20 staff comprising of 17 faculty, and 3 administrative staff.


To promote knowledge and develop skills needed for improved public health and sustainable environmental management.


To contribute toward public health and environmental management for sustainable development through research and train students who will become change agents for national development.


The Department offers the following programmes:

BSc. Environment and Public Health

BSc. Nature Conservation

BSc. Sustainability Science

BSc. Environmental Management


Prof. Edward Debrah-Wiafe
Associate Professor
Prof. Kofi Mensah Nyarko
Associate Professor
Prof. Alex Pappoe
Associate Professor
Dr. Nuworza Kugbey
HoD, Environment and Public Health, Senior Lecturer
Dr. Richard Amfo-Otu
Senior Lecturer
Dr. Ishmael Lente
Dr. Frank Kyei-Arthur
Dr. Margaret Appiah
Dr. Grace Afrifa-Anane
Dr. Gifty Kumi-Amoah
Dr. Lloyd Larbi
Dr. Kwabena Opoku-Mensah
Ms. Ama Mbeaba Quarshie
Assistant Lecturer
Ms. Sylvia Baidoo
Assistant Lecturer
Ms. Joyce Amfo
Assistant Lecturer
Ms. Safiatu Tarl Abdullai
Assistant Lecturer
Mr. Ernest Akyereko
Assistant Lecturer
Mr. Daniel Agyei
Assistant Lecturer
Ms. Victoria Priscilla Dodoo
Assistant Registrar
Ms. Afua Besema Sam
Senior Administrative Assistant
Ms. Margaret Akansake
National Service Personnel