Contact:+233 (0) 200955020 | +233 (0) 20 320 1141

UESD, COVID-19 Committee makes presentation

The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Environment and Sustainable Development, (UESD), Prof. Eric Nyarko-Sampson has asked members of the University Community to adhere to all the COVID -19 protocols to curb the incidence of the disease on campus.

Chairperson of UESD COVID-19 Committee, Dr. Rosemary Akolaa, presenting nose masks to Registrar, Mrs Mary A. Agyepong.

Prof. Nyarko-Sampson was speaking at a short ceremony in his office on the 20th of April, 2021 after receiving twenty one, (21) boxes of nose masks and its accessories from the Registrar, Mrs. Mary Abena Agyepong which was presented to her by the UESD, COVID-19 committee, for onward distribution to students, stewards and members of security of the University.

Prof. Nyarko – Sampson was hopeful that the distribution of the masks to the beneficiaries will go a long way to help protect them and stem the incidence of the disease on campus.

Presenting the items, the Chairperson of the COVID-19 committee, Dr. Rosemary Anderson Akolaa, who is a Lecturer in Gender Studies at the School of Natural Resources and Environmental Sciences, explained that the purpose of the presentation was to help keep the students and staff safe.

Dr. Akolaa said the nose masks were purchased from the personal contribution of members of the COVID-19 committee and some Lecturers.
She said six (6) students have been chosen to serve as ambassadors in the fight against COVID-19 on campus.

The Registrar; Mrs. Mary Abena Agyepong thanked the UESD, COVID-19 committee for the items. She said the presentation is a big leap towards the fight against the COVID 19 spread.

Dr. Akolaa was accompanied by a member of the committee, Mr. Samuel Obeng-Osei who is an Assistant Registrar and head of the Services unit of the University.

The Vice Chancellor, Prof. Nyarko-Sampson later handed over the items to the Health unit, received by Senior Nursing Officer, Madam Veronica Abena Agyebuah for distribution to the beneficiaries, made up of the students, stewards and security.

The Dean of students, Dr. Daniella
Sedegah received the items on behalf of the beneficiaries.

The UESD, COVID-19 committee which has a membership of ten, (10), was established in January, 2021 as part of measures towards curbing the COVID-19 pandemic. Since then members have been organizing educative programmes for staff and students to keep them safe.